Take Out Kidz (TOK) was founded in 2009 by Kevin Sutardji during the Spring Quarter of 2009. TOK is a non-audition dance group that is dedicated to teaching anyone who is interested in learning how to dance, no matter if you have experience or not. Although this is a non-audition, we strive to become better dancers every day. The team began with 5 members, and quickly expanded to over 25. With a focus on teamwork and improvement, TOK have been a breeding ground for freshmen to grow their dancing skills and be a part of not only a team, but a family.

During the Winter Quarter of 2010, PCE Modern Coordinator Marvin Macairan and TOK Choreographer Gregg Hanano, decided that they wanted to change the relationship between two rival clubs. With the use of dance and the help of other choreographers, the very first PCE and CSA (PCeSA for short) dance collaboration was created. In 3 short weeks, dancers learned, blocked, and performed this set for both clubs to see, hoping to change the way future generations would see the relationship between the clubs. The tradition has been carried on since.


Anyone who is interested is welcome: join us on Wednesdays from 8-10PM in the PCV parking structure and Fridays and Sundays from 5-7PM in Studio 3 located in the Recreational Center!

Take Out Kidz Photoshoot


    Miaoxin Wang : 2017-2018
    Audrey Chan : 2016-2017
    Kevin Chiu : 2015 - 2016
    Trang Tran : 2014 - 2015
    Sterling Tarng : 2013 - 2014


    Ryan Sutardji : 2012 - 2013
    Brandon Takahashi : 2011 - 2012
    Ryan Gee : 2010 - 2011
    Kevin Sutardji : 2009-2010


Lion Dance originated back in ancient China and became a symbol of good luck by scaring away evil spirits during the New Year on the Lunar Calendar. The lion head is often mistaken as a dragon because there were no lions in China so they did not know what they looked like. Instead, they combined attributes from several different animals to create their traditional lion. The ears were taken from the Chinese unicorn, the beard came from the dragon, the back of the head represents a turtle’s shell, and the horn is supposed to represent a phoenix. Other symbolism is found on the lion’s head. A big forehead meant great knowledge and wisdom, and the mirror placed on the lion’s forehead is to scare away the evil spirits; since evil spirits are afraid to see their own reflections.
Young Louis founded Lion Dance Team (LDT) in 1957. From then on, the team began to educate students and the community about this traditional dance. Lion Dance Team’s performances for blessing businesses during New Years and grand openings help maintain the cultural ties that the Chinese community in San Luis Obispo would otherwise have to give up.


Anyone who is interested is welcome: join us on Saturday at 10AM behind the H.P. Davidson Music Building!

Lion Dance Team at CNYB 2016


    Theodore Tan : 2016
    Penelope Thoo & Scott Wong : 2015
    Ben Wong : 2014
    Todd Wong : 2013
    Adam Yee : 2012
    Corrinne Goodwin : 2011
    Devin Tang : 2010
    Danny Lee : 2009
    Alan Swe : 2008
    Thomas Marley : 2007
    Erik Lee : 2006
    Wenschel Lan : 2005
    Erik Lee : 2004


    Matthew Wong : 2003
    Michael Huynh : 2002
    Gienn Ly : 2001
    Vincent Wong : 2000
    Phillip Li : 1999
    Andrew Lee : 1998
    Tom Allen : 1997
    Tay Vong : 1996
    Natalie Young : 1995
    Jim Wu & Natalie Young : 1994
    On-King Lau : 1993
    Frank Lee : 1992
    Thomas Tong : 1991


Every weekend CSA holds a different sporting event. Whether it’s kickball, dodge ball, tossing a frisbee, you name it! The sporting events are open to anyone looking for another way to have some fun, while connecting with other members of CSA. Regardless of your experience, CSA’s sporting events are for enjoyment and having a good time. The location of the events will vary from week to week from the track field, the sports complex, or in the Rec Center.


CSA Intramural Team


    Chester Liu : 2016-2017
    Patrick Cheung : 2015 - 2016
    Kyle Chan : 2014 - 2015
    Sergio Villalpando : 2013 - 2014



    Jeffrey Tang : 2012 - 2013
    Johnny Chuc : 2011 - 2012
    Carlo Dacanay : 2010 - 2011
    Felix Chung : 2009 - 2010